Martial Arts Studies Events, Journals & Books

I just want to update you all on a few things before I sign off for the Easter break.

First, the next event of the Martial Arts Studies Research Network, focusing on new research on Japanese martial arts, takes place in Bath in a few weeks’ time, on 3rd May. The schedule is now online, here.

I also want to remind everyone attending the Martial Arts Studies Conference in Cardiff [11-13 July] that it is really important for you to register for the conference and then book your accommodation as soon as possible. I have it on good authority that most of the hotels in Cardiff are sold out, and rooms that are available are now at extortionate prices. This is not because our conference is so popular, but rather because Coldplay are playing in Cardiff for the exact same three nights…

I’ve updated information about conference keynotes here and about all confirmed conference speakers here.

Finally, I want to note that the next issue of the journal Martial Arts Studies is in the pipeline, as are new books in the Martial Arts Studies Book Series  If you have an academic article on martial arts studies, please send it to the journal for consideration; and if you have a book proposal or draft monograph, feel free to send it to me for informal discussion.

Best wishes – and to all of you in countries that celebrate Easter as a national holiday, I hope you have a good break!

Paul

